Indian Nobel Prize in India | Indian Nobel Laureates, Complete List (1913-2024)

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Join Our Telegram Channel Join Now

Indian Nobel Prize Winners List:- The Nobel Prize is a globally renowned award, recognized for excellence in six different fields: Literature, Physics, Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Peace, and Physiology or Medicine. Several Indians have earned this prestigious honor, known as Laureates, in recognition of their significant contributions to humanity. Nobel Laureates receive a gold medal, a diploma, and a monetary award. This article highlights the remarkable achievements of a select group of Indians who dedicated their lives to the betterment of humanity and were honored with Nobel Prizes in various fields. Before delving into the list of Nobel Prize winners in India, let’s explore the history of the Nobel Prize, the Nobel Prize Insignia, and related details.

History of the Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize, founded in 1901 in memory of Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the betterment of humanity. This prestigious award is presented in six distinct fields: Literature, Physics, Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Peace, and Physiology or Medicine. Alfred Nobel’s bequest in his will, following his death in 1896, allocated his fortune for the establishment of these prizes, which would become known as the “Nobel Prizes.” The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901, and they have continued to be recognized as a symbol of outstanding achievements in various fields. In 1968, the Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden’s central bank) funded the establishment of the Nobel Prize for Economic Sciences, expanding the recognition to this additional field. Today, Nobel Prizes continue to celebrate individuals who have made remarkable contributions to human knowledge, progress, and peace.

Indian Nobel Prize Insignia

Nobel Prize recipients, known as Laureates, are honored with three distinct symbols of their achievement: a medal, a diploma, and a monetary award. The Nobel Prize medals are crafted from 24-karat gold plated with green gold, measuring approximately 65 millimeters in diameter and weighing around 175 grams. These medals are presented to the Laureates at a formal ceremony held in Stockholm, Sweden, on December 10th, which marks the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s passing.
Indian Nobel laureates have left an indelible mark on various fields, including literature, physics, chemistry, medicine, peace, and economics. Their groundbreaking contributions have significantly advanced knowledge and understanding in these domains, leaving a positive and lasting impact on the world.

S. No.Nobel Prize WinnersCategoryYear
1.Rabindranath TagoreLiterature1913
2.CV RamanPhysics1930
3.Har Govind KhuranaMedicine1968
4.Mother TeresaPeace1979
5.Subrahmanyam ChandrasekharPhysics1983
6.Amartya SenEconomics1998
7.Venkatraman RamakrishnanChemistry2009
8.Kailash SatyarthiPeace2014
9.Abhijit Banerjee
(Esther Duflo – shared with Abhijit Banerjee)

India GK:- Indian General Knowledge Topics

Rabindranath Tagore – Nobel Prize in Literature (1913):
Our journey begins with the legendary poet, philosopher, and polymath, Rabindranath Tagore. In 1913, he became the first Indian Nobel Laureate, receiving the Nobel Prize in Literature for his profoundly moving and philosophically rich poetry and writings. Tagore’s work transcended boundaries and showcased the depth of India’s literary heritage to the world.

C.V. Raman – Nobel Prize in Physics (1930):
Next on our list is the pioneering physicist Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman, known as C.V. Raman. In 1930, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for his groundbreaking work on the scattering of light, which is now known as the “Raman Effect.” This discovery revolutionized our understanding of molecular interactions and earned him a well-deserved place in scientific history.

Har Gobind Khorana – Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1968):
The 1968 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Dr. Har Gobind Khorana for his remarkable contributions to deciphering the genetic code. His pioneering research in the field of DNA and RNA laid the foundation for genetic engineering and the biotechnology revolution.

Mother Teresa – Nobel Peace Prize (1979):
Known for her unwavering commitment to helping the less fortunate, Mother Teresa, born Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu, was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1979. Her selfless dedication to humanitarian work, especially in the slums of Kolkata, inspired millions and continues to serve as a beacon of hope and compassion.

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar – Nobel Prize in Physics (1983):
Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, a brilliant astrophysicist, received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1983 for his groundbreaking work on the structure and evolution of stars. His work shed light on the processes that govern celestial bodies and significantly advanced our understanding of astrophysics.

Amartya Sen – Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences (1998):
Renowned economist and philosopher Amartya Sen was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in 1998. His pioneering contributions to welfare economics and the study of poverty and famine have had a profound impact on global development policies.

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan – Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2009):
Dr. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan’s research into the structure and function of ribosomes earned him the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2009. His work paved the way for understanding essential biological processes and the development of antibiotics.

Kailash Satyarthi – Nobel Peace Prize (2014):
Dedicated to the cause of child rights, Kailash Satyarthi was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014. His tireless efforts to combat child labor and promote education have transformed the lives of countless children worldwide.

Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo – Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences (2019):
In 2019, economists Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo were honored with the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty. Their innovative research has informed effective policy solutions for addressing economic inequality.

Who was the first Indian Nobel laureate?

India has a rich history of Nobel laureates across various fields. The first Indian Nobel laureate was Rabindranath Tagore, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913 for his poetic and literary contributions. On the other hand, the most recent Indian Nobel laureate is Abhijit Banerjee, who received the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2019 for his significant work in the field of economics, particularly in poverty alleviation and experimental approaches to addressing global poverty challenges. These laureates represent the diverse talents and contributions of Indians on the global stage.

Who is the first Indian woman to win a Nobel Prize and in which category?

Mother Teresa, the renowned humanitarian and missionary, holds the distinction of being the first Indian woman to receive a Nobel Prize. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1979 in recognition of her selfless and dedicated work in helping the poor and needy, particularly in the slums of Kolkata (formerly Calcutta), India. Mother Teresa’s tireless efforts to provide care, comfort, and dignity to the destitute and suffering earned her this prestigious honor and left a profound impact on the world.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top