States and Capitals: 28 States and 8 Union Territories in India

States And Capitals Of India

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Join Our Telegram Channel Join Now

States and Capitals 2021: India’s 28 States and 8 Union Territories will be represented India is the seventh-largest country in the world, and the second most populous. It is located in southern Asia. It is officially called the Republic of India. It has a parliamentary government. It is very difficult to manage a large country from one location. The Indian Constitution gives the right to the central government to give states whatever powers it feels appropriate. This article discusses the list of Indian States, their Capitals, and the year they were founded.

States and Capitals 2021

India has 28 states State NameCapital
 1Andhra PradeshAmaravati
 2Arunachal PradeshItanagar
 9Himachal PradeshShimla
 13Madhya PradeshBhopal
14 MaharashtraMumbai
 23Tamil NaduChennai
 26Uttar PradeshLucknow
 27UttarakhandDehradun (Winter) Gairsain (Summer)
 28Gairsain (Summer)Kolkata

Indian Union Territories and Capitals

India has 8 Territorie statesUnion Territories States NamesCapitals
 1Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
 2Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
 5Delhi     New Delhi
 8Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer) Jammu (Winter)

Three union territories, eight in India, have their own legislatures. These are Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry), and Jammu & Kashmir. Each state and union territory has its capital.

The List of Indian States and Capitals

Many people are unaware of the number of States/Union Territories in India as well as their capitals. This article will provide you with the most recent information on India’s States and Capitals. At the moment, there are 28 states and 8 union territory in India. Each Indian state has its own administrative, legislative, and judicial capital. In some cases, all three functions can be performed in the same capital. Each state is governed by a Chief Minister. We have listed the Indian States and Union Territories as well as their capitals.

Indian Union Territories & Capitals

The Parliament passed a reorganization bill on 5-6 Aug 2020, which created the new union territories. India currently has eight Union Territories. India currently has 28 states and 8 Union Territories. Jammu and Kashmir, the former state, has been divided into two Union Territories of (UT), J&K and Ladakh.

How many states in India?

India has 28 states. There are also 8 union territories.

what are the 29 states of india and their capitals?

India has 28 states

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top